Home Automobile 75 years of the MotoGP world championship

75 years of the MotoGP world championship

75 years of the MotoGP world championship


75 years of the MotoGP world championship

From its starting in 1949, the MotoGP World Championship reaches its seventy fifth yr in 2024. Initially based mostly on the manufacturing bikes of the day, MotoGP right this moment is the head of two wheel racing expertise, together with probably the most expert and gifted motorbike riders on the planet.

Beginning off within the submit conflict years with bikes purchased off the showroom ground, suitably modified, the World Championship, as MotoGP when then recognized, comprised of a number of engine capability courses. Initially operating 50, 80, 125, 250, 350, 500 and 750 cc displacement classes in varied eras, this had been rationalised to the 125, 250 and 500 championships by the late Seventies.

From the late 60s, two-stroke engines dominated the grid, providing one of the best horsepower to weight ratio four-stroke engines couldn’t hope to match. With the transfer to four-stroke energy vegetation in 2002 together with the title change from Motorbike World Championship to MotoGP, this heralded the trendy period of motorbike racing.

Carlo Ubbiali (left), Mike Hailwood

Since 1949 there have been 1,015 Grands Prix staged internationally, the 1,000th race occurring in Le Mans, France, in 2023. This equates to three,371 races throughout all courses within the particular person class.

Throughout the seven-and-a-half a long time of MotoGP, there have been 126 riders who claimed the title of World Champion with the crown of most championship wins going to Giacomo Agostini having 15. Angel Nieto has the second biggest variety of championships with 12+1 (Nieto had triskaidekaphobia, a phobia of the quantity 13, and most well-liked to make use of “12+1”).

Mike Hailwood and Valentino Rossi tie with 9 championships a chunk, together with Carlo Ubbiali. Coming into the 2024 MotoGP season, 399 riders have beforehand received particular person races, so, count on to see the four-hundredth rider to win a MotoGP race occur this yr.

Angel Nieto (left), Giacomo Agostini

Essentially the most profitable producer on the planet championship, throughout the 75 years of MotoGP historical past, is Honda, with 821 solo wins because the Hamamatsu agency began competing within the 1960 championship. This isn’t disregarding its entrance within the Isle of Man TT in 1959 n the 125 class, then and now acknowledged as probably the most tough and harmful highway racing on the planet.

Following Honda, Yamaha has taken 520 particular person wins throughout the assorted MotoGP championships, adopted by Aprilia with 297 victories. MV Agusta, with its hallowed racing historical past, has 275 wins to its title whereas Kalex, which provides racing equipment for the decrease courses, has 176.

By nationality, racers from 30 international locations have received Grand Prix races, Italy main the pack with 888, adopted by Spain with 722. Coincidentally, 30 international locations have staged Grands Prix, the most recent to take action being India with Buddh Worldwide Circuit internet hosting the MotoGP in 2023.

75 years of the MotoGP world championship

Valentino Rossi

The primary Malaysian Grand Prix was held in 1991 on the Shah Alam Circuit in Batu Tiga, the ultimate race of the season. Received by John Kocinski, riders complained of the tropical warmth, one thing that has grow to be a signature for racing in Malaysia.

Grand Prix racing in Malaysia moved to Sepang Worldwide Circuit in 1999. Just like the worldwide rounds of MotoGP, Honda has rqcked up probably the most Grand Prix wins in Malaysia, with 33 throughout all courses since 1991, adopted by Aprilia with 19 and Yamaha with 9.

Seeking to promote your automotive? Promote it with myTukar.


Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here